Inside a cloud of flour…

Yesterday, in order to better prepare myself for J’s holiday break, I baked cookies.  I baked A LOT of cookies.  By the time I hopped in the shower I looked pretty pale…I soon realized I was covered in flour.  Don’t ask how that happened…I have a knack for those things.

I will post the recipe at the end of this entry, and I would love it if you guys could give me some feedback.  I am not merely baking cookies for myself, I am trying to simplify the process and execution so it can be easily replicated in J’s classroom.  I will also make the clarification that this is my version of a sugar cookie recipe from an old Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook that I’ve been lugging around for the past 23 years (which means its claim on the cover of being the “NEW!” BHandG Cookbook is no longer true.)

So, here goes…my Frankenstein Creature’s Cookies (because they’re the result of an experiment…using parts of other things…never mind…)

Ingredients:

1/3 CUP of butter

1/3 CUP of shortening

1 1/2 CUPS of flour

1/2 CUP of unsweetened cocoa powder

3/4 CUP of sugar

1 egg

1 TABLESPOON of milk

1 TEASPOON of baking powder

1 TEASPOON of vanilla (or, if you want to make the grown-up version, Kahlúa Coffee Liqueur)

A dash of salt

Steps:

1) In a medium-sized mixing bowl, beat butter and shortening together for 30 seconds until well combined.

2) Add  1/2 cup of flour, cocoa, sugar, egg, milk, baking powder, vanilla (or Kahlúa), and salt.

3)  With mixer on HIGH, beat until well combined.

4) Add remaining flour and mix until well combined.

5) Transfer dough to a ziploc bag and chill in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours.

When you are ready to bake cookies:

1)  Pre-heat oven to 375℉.

2)  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

3)  On a lightly floured surface, divide dough in half.

4)  Roll one half of the dough to 1/8″ thickness.

5)  Cut into shapes with a cookie-cutter.  (I used 2-inch Xmas trees)

6)  Bake for 7 1/2 minutes.

7)  Cool cookies on wire rack.

This is the neat part…these cookies are good for “sandwich” or iced cookies.  I used raspberry jam, peanut butter and Nutella for fillings.  I also iced them with a confectioners’ sugar icing; I skipped the vanilla and used orange extract and orange juice instead, but I’m suspecting instant coffee crystals and Kahlúa would work very well.  Another possibility is mint extract and milk, and some crumbled peppermint candy for a garnish?  Any thoughts on that?

I let J taste them plain and he loves them.  He preferred the Nutella filling, but I suspect if I could make a cream-cheese filling that would be even tastier for him.  He does love cheese!

So…that’s my thing for today.  If you came seeking humor or illumination, I apologize.  I give you the potential for cookies instead.  So, if you are so inclined, try the cookie recipe and let me know what you think.  I made all these little Christmas tree cookies and tomorrow I’m taking a batch of dough to J’s classroom to test them out on the unsuspecting teachers adn mentors…

Suggestions are more than welcome, either about the ingredients or the process.  I am sure the spammers will have a field day!!!!

Leave a Reply

