Random quotes we live by…

Our household likes quoting people…and movies.  We often interject things like “you’re endangering the mission,” “beat to quarters!,” “the lesser of two weevils,” “using mainly spoons,” “wind the frog!,” “squirrel!,” and so forth into everyday events.  We also break into song…or we scat.  It’s not a pretty picture, but it’s ingrained in us and we enjoy it…the neighbors probably worry about us.

Today I figured (since it’s snowing and I feel like curling up in a corner and reading while I wait for the FedEx truck to deliver some things) that I’d offer you a series of quotes (the kind that don’t randomly slide down our brain to our mouths and simply POP out) that sort of define our life as a family.

I’ve organized them in alphabetical order by author (or speaker)…I hope they give you a sense of who we are or, perhaps, help you realize that I am not as randomly composed as I seem from time to time.

Lauren Bacall:

I think your whole life shows in your face and you should be proud of that.   (Not a bad thing to tell yourself when you realize that moisturizer you bought isn’t really doing much for you.)

Erma Bombeck:

Children make your life important. 

When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me’. 

If you can’t make it better, you can laugh at it. 

e.e. cummings:

It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are. 

Eustacia Cutler (Temple Grandin’s mother):

Adolescence is hard enough for any child, but autistic adolescence is something devised by the devil.

You’ll survive, that’s what. You’ll find your footing and stagger up onto dry land holding on tight to your child. You’ll limp, but you’ll make sense. There’ll be good days and nightmare nights, moments of great pride and days when you want to slink out of sight. But it won’t be raw knees in the undertow.

Isak Dinesen:

Difficult times have helped me to understand better than before, how infinitely rich and beautiful life is in every way, and that so many things that one goes worrying about are of no importance whatsoever. 

E.M. Forster:

Unless we remember we cannot understand.  

We must be willing to let go of the life we have planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us.

José Ortega y Gasset:

I am I, plus my circumstance.

José María Pemán:

The most eminent virtue is doing simply what we have to do.

A child is a question we ask destiny.

George Sand:

Life in common among people who love each other is the ideal of happiness. 

Sting:

Men go crazy in congregations; they only get better one by one.

James Thurber:

Humor is emotional chaos remembered in tranquility.

I know this is a random post and probably you’ll think it doesn’t make sense, but -then again- there’s not much that makes sense ALL THE TIME around these parts.

Off to wait for the FedEx delivery truck…

It still is very quiet here…maybe I should run the dishwasher, the washer and the vacuum cleaner all at the same time?  Sigh…and it’s not even eleven a.m.

Leave a Reply

