And I thought I’d done so well…

It isn’t even six o’clock in the evening and J has climbed up to his room already.  This is not the usual procedure for summer.  Last night, for example, he went to his room at nearly 9 P.M.  This evening he has gathered his belongings, stomped up the stairs and announced -in his own way- that he is displeased and unhappy.

But let me rewind…

He was up early, and he determined what he wanted on the board for today.  I did my best to pepper his routine with things that were ever-so-slightly out of the usual humdrum stuff: sweeping the porch, planting more peas, weeding the garden, and so forth.  We worked on ANIMALS.  We met a little boy who enthusiastically and energetically dashed out of the playground demanding to know J’s name.  Oh, that part was adorable, and J was very happy to make this acquaintance.  I was surprised at how well he received the rapid approach of a 2 or 3 year old blessed with the volubility of a politician.  They looked like a flea and Marmaduke when standing side by side, but it was a cute interaction and J said MY NAME IS J quite well.  All in all it was a good day…

And then it stopped being.  Just like that.  No warning.  No signs to indicate a sudden shift in anything.  Just stomp, stomp, stomp and then running in place while yowling and that was it.

Don’t get me wrong.  I understand he can’t be a big ol’ ray of sunshine all the time, but…why today?  School is a mere two weeks away.  We’ve had fun and done stuff.  We’re working through our ANIMALS SCRAPBOOK at quite a nice pace.  We made COOKIES, for crying out loud.

So this evening finds me scratching my head in frustration.  Yesterday’s Lego obviously entertained him for a short time.  Today’s activities seemed to keep him happy.  Now…I’m stumped.

I know that these days will be more frequent the closer we get to the first day of school.  J’s outgrowing me at a very fast pace.  Almost as quickly as I’m outgrowing the elastic on my leggings.  :/

Leave a Reply

