Waylaid…

I had jotted down some notes early this morning with every intention of using them on this post.  Then I saw a video that’s making the rounds on the internet…since I’ve FINALLY stopped crying (although if I think about it I start up again,) I figured I’d share it…

As you all know, J is madly in love with Katy Perry.  He loves running to Firework and has this lovely dance he does and the smile…well…it’s very J-like and heartfelt and chokes me up every time I see it…

The clip is from The Night of Too Many Stars benefit for autism programs.  The host is Jon Stewart.  If you have access to Comedy Central, please watch when it airs on Sunday…it’s totally worth it.  It’s a show full of people who do give a crap about this cause.

Now, to the clip: this young lady’s name is Jodi DiPiazza…her duet partner is a little more famous.  Never has this song meant more than during this performance.  Enjoy…

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have toilets to clean, laundry to fold and a very emotional reaction to this girl’s story and this performance to put under control.  I am now going to prepare myself to, regardless of his desire to keep me at arm’s length, hug my son very tightly when he gets home from school…

It’s just that kind of I’m-the-mom-of-an-autistic-teenager sort of day…

2 thoughts on “Waylaid…

  1. I don’t know what made me think I wouldn’t cry. It’s not as if you didn’t give fair warning.
    Thanks for sharing this video. I’m a total wreck (it’s been quite a day, week, month), but it was worth it.

    • If it’s any consolation, I showed it to Dada when he came home from work yesterday afternoon. We both cried. Then TGG came home from work at almost nine P.M. We played it for him…we all cried. I have decided I’m not going to watch it again until Sunday when they air the whole thing…and I’m sure we’ll be passing the box of Kleenex around then…

      In my experience, this lovely little girl wouldn’t have taken to holding Katy Perry that tightly unless she could feel genuine affection and acceptance from her…J won’t go near anyone who, even if they act totally “nice” towards him, gives off a weird vibe. Seeing that hug and cling at the end…priceless!

Leave a Reply

