Sliding down the hill…

J and I left the house at 8:20 this morning to wait for the bus.  The two-hour delay wasn’t too much of a catastrophe as J has learned to understand the difference between no-school and late-school days.  (And I would like to thank our schedule board for this…I wouldn’t be able to get these things across without her!)  To pass the time between when Dada and TGG left, and the time when J had to leave for school, we started laundry, cleaned the kitchen, folded and put away clothes…

Bundled up against the elements (of which the only truly active one was the cold temperature,) we stepped out through the deck and onto the lawn.

That’s when J decided it would be fun to pull me downhill while feigning distress.  I thought he was falling when, in fact, he was just walking fast and dragging me along.  The slope, mind you, is not a long one…it’s not very steep either.  I, however, had visions of fractured middle-aged hips and traction while, all in one confused jumble, I was having the time of my life.  The ten-year-old me wanted to scream “more, more…let’s do it again!!!!”  We were, however, out there for a valuable reason so I had to refrain.  On the way back, I was tempted to skate down the hill once more but I decided to do the mature (and hip-saving) thing: into the house I came and started opening windows to air out the place.

Yes, in the past hour and a half, I’ve aired out the house, straightened up all the small messes that constant habitation cause and surfed channels until I realized that, because I am home and can watch TV uninterrupted should I choose to do so, there is absolutely NOTHING on.

I don’t know how many trick-or-treaters we will get this evening.  I am pretty sure the turnout will not be affected because kids+candy+weather still amounts to “I want to go out dressed in a flimsy outfit because people give me FREE CANDY!!!!”  It makes me think back to TGG’s last Halloween costume from childhood (right when he decided he was “too old” to dress up)…I’m sure there won’t be a single Legolas (with blonde wig and all) in the bunch…but I can dream, can’t I?  So many ninjas last year, and zombies…sigh…

In any case, if the treat bags go unclaimed, they are ALL going to work tomorrow with both working men…I refuse to have a house full of candy.  It’s bad enough that I have cookies…

Back to my book I go.  After all, J will be home at 3 P.M. and that’s merely five hours away.  Time is precious…

Off to the kitchen for a cup of tea, a couple of cookies (which I KNOW I should not eat, but they’re my hips and there’s snow on the ground and I need all the help I can get if I fall,) and my book…

Have a happy and safe Halloween…

Leave a Reply

