The problem with ointment? That one single, solitary fly…

It has become part of the morning routine: a brief, inexplicable tantrum.

By now I should be immune to the stuff, but it is more unnerving because it had stopped completely.  So the past few mornings, when J turns into an asshole for no good reason, I am left sputtering and breathing so deeply I get dizzy.

This too shall pass, I’m sure.  And come around again, of course.  Only to pass one more time, and so on and so forth ad nauseam.

Is it like this for everyone else out there?  Or is this just in the realm of those who don’t have services available to them?  The tension headaches are a lulu.

So we now have expanded our conversations with the Proloquo2Go, and that helps.  I ask J to “talk” to me, and he realizes that he’s done something he shouldn’t have.  We then go into GOOD MORNING, I LOVE YOU, I NEED A HUG, KISS, LOVE, I LOVE YOU mode.  I tell him HIT WRONG TALK GOOD and we go back to the same GOOD MORNING, I LOVE YOU, I NEED A HUG, KISS, LOVE, I LOVE YOU loop until he finally gets that he should say SORRY.

We are learning something new about how hard this is every single day.  We adjust accordingly.  We fine-tune.  We repeat, and repeat, and repeat.  We go over things many times, and we try to clarify the message so that it becomes more accessible to J over time.

It would help if opportunities for activities were available.  We have made a habit of going to the movies just the two of us, and he likes that.  Tomorrow we might hit Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but I’m not sure J will sit happily through that.  The book is awesome, and I have faith in Tim Burton’s ability to adapt the material, but I don’t know if J will like it.  Perhaps a bigger bucket of popcorn and his iPad with the headphones will do the trick, but it’s a 2-plus hour movie and that’s a lot of popcorn…

Yesterday J got fixated on the notion of a birthday.  We made cupcakes.  Most of them went to work with Dada this morning.  J was satisfied with the ones he got to keep.  He has only had one so that might be a treat later, or he might just be over the whole thing.

We’ll see.  We’ve passed the tantrum point for today.  I am exhausted and frustrated, but he seems to have settled down nicely.  The trick is to see how long he cycles through this particular routine, and to try to make it less overwhelming for everyone here.

We are, as usual, working on it.

 

Leave a Reply

